Each year, NYU Tandon School of Engineering’s Lynford Lecture features a prominent thinker who explains complex information and important ideas with clarity and concision. The series is made possible by Tondra and Jeffrey Lynford and NYU Tandon’s Institute for Mathematics and Advanced Supercomputing (IMAS).

Mr. Lynford is a member of the NYU Tandon School of Engineering Board of Overseers. The Lynfords were instrumental in bringing IMAS Co-Directors Drs. David and Gregory Chudnovsky to the School of Engineering.

Clicking on the links here will give you the opportunity to learn more about each lecture, and to peruse Mr. Lynford's introductory remarks.

Inaugural Lynford Lecture, September 1998
Ed Witten, Ph.D., Professor of Physics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, NJ

2nd Annual Lynford Lecture, October 1999
J. Craig Venter, Ph.D., President and Chief Scientific Officer, Celera Genomics

3rd Annual Lynford Lecture, October 2000
Bill Joy, Co-founder, Chief Scientist and Corporate Executive Officer, Sun Microsystems

4th Annual Lynford Lecture, October 2001
Alan Kay, Ph.D., Pioneer in computing

5th Annual Lynford Lecture, October 2002
Robert Mundell, Ph.D., 1999 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences

6th Annual Lynford Lecture, October 2003
Gerald M. Rubin, Ph.D., genome sequence pioneer

7th Annual Lynford Lecture, November 2004
Richard L. Garwin, Ph.D., Physicist, nuclear scientist, recipient of the National Medal of Science and Enrico Fermi Award, and member of the Board of Sponsors of The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists

8th Annual Lynford Lecture, April 2006
John L. Peterson, Founder and President, The Arlington Institute

9th Annual Lynford Lecture, December 2006
Robert Metcalfe, Ph.D., General Parther, Polaris Venture Partners; Co-Inventor, Ethernet

10th Annual Lynford Lecture, November 2007
Lt. Gen. Robert J. Elder, Ph.D., Commander, 8th Air Force; Air Combat Command; and
Joint Functional Component Commander for Space and Global Strike, U.S. Strategic Command

11th Annual Lynford Lecture, December 2008
Jeremy Grantham, Co-founder and Chief Investment Officer, Grantham Mayo Van Otterloo (GMO)

12th Annual Lynford Lecture, November 2009
Frances "Fran" Allen, IBM Fellow Emerita; Recipient, A.M. Turing Award (2006)

13th Annual Lynford Lecture, April 2010
Myron S. Scholes, Ph.D., 1997 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences

14th Annual Lynford Lecture, March 2011
Daniel Kahnemann, Ph.D., 2002 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences

15th Annual Lynford Lecture, November 2013
Judea Pearl, Ph.D.,
Recipient, ACM Turing Award (2011)

16th Annual Lynford Lecture, March 2015
Eric Emil Schadt, Ph.D., Founder, Icahn Institute for Genomics and Multiscale Biology

17th Annual Lynford Lecture, October 2016
Bonnie L. Bassler, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Molecular Biology at Princeton University